Peter Van den Bergh

Professor of Neurology at the Université Catholique de Louvain and
Director of the Neuromuscular Centre of Reference of the Cliniques Universitaires
Saint-Luc, Brussels, Belgium.

ACADEMIC AND CLINICAL RESPONSABILITIES : Head of the neuromuscular diseases and
neuromuscular rehabilitation clinic, of the electromyography lab, and the neuromuscular pathology
lab ; Teaching of clinical neurophysiology and neuromuscular pathology.

at the Cliniques Universitaires St-Luc, of which he is director and coordinator.




  • pathogenesis and treatment of inflammatory neuropathies (founding member of the Inflammatory
    Neuropathy Consortium, a standing committee of the Peripheral Nerve Society)
  • electrodiagnostic criteria of demyelinating neuropathies
  • development of functional scales for neuromuscular disorders
  • Organizer of an International Symposium on Neuromuscular Disorders – December
    1999, Brussels, Belgium
  • Organizer of an International Symposium of Neuromuscular Diseases – October
    2005, Brussels, Belgium
  • Organizer of WMS11 – October 2006, Bruges, Belgium
  • Organizer of Progress in Neuromuscular Disorders, the 10th Anniversary Symposium of the
    Neuromuscular Centre UCL St-Luc – November 2010, Brussels, Belgium
  • Member of the Treat-NMD Alliance (coordinator for the 6 Belgian Neuromuscular
    Centres) (since 2008)
  • Chairman of the EFNS and since 2016 the European Academy of Neurology (EAN) Scientific
    Neuropathy panel (since 2009)
  • Member of the European Affairs Subcommittee of the EAN (2016), delegate to the
    BioMedAlliance Europe (2017)
  • Member of the AFM Pathophysiological Basis of the Muscular Dystrophies commission
  • President of the Belgian-Dutch Neuromuscular Study Group (since 1998)
  • Member of WMS since 1997, participated at all WMS congresses except two
  • Editorial Board member of Neuromuscular Disorders since 2001
  • Executive Associate Editor of Neuromuscular Disorders since 2016
  • Member of the WMS Executive Board since 2007
  • Member of the WMS Program Committee since 2007
  • President-elect of the Inflammatory Neuropathy Consortium (INC) of the Peripheral
    Nerve Society
  • Executive Board member of Euro-NMD and leader of the Neurophysiology Group